Ginger Taylor, In Many Words
Ginger Taylor In Many Words
In Many Words
6
0:00
-4:51

In Many Words

6

The act of speaking in public is inherently an act of vanity. It presupposes that you have something so important to say that people must stop their daily lives and listen to you. In this regard I am a very vain woman. I have unleashed untold millions of my words on the public over the last 18 years, because I truly believe that my words hold such truth, wisdom, and humor that everyone needs to hear them.

I love my words. I am very impressed with my words. I believe you, the reader and/or listener, should too, be enamored with my impressive, wise, and insightful words.

However, God has done me a kindness in allowing me to understand my vanity, my absurd overestimation of my pronouncements, and even my silly need for appreciation for my many, many words. He has even brought me to humility over my words in that I have come to understand that there might be the slight possibility that one of two of my words were incorrect, unwise, unbiblical, and never should have been uttered in the first place. In fact, when I typed “insightful” in the above paragraph, my misspelling caused the word to auto-correct to “deceitful.”

“I believe you, the reader and/or listener, should too, be enamored with my impressive, wise, and deceitful words.”

God humbles me even in my attempt at self-humiliation.

I enjoy comforting myself in the delusion that such error on my part has probably only happened once or twice, and that surely no one even noticed.

Knowing this to be true, and knowing that I am likely ridiculous in my estimation of my previous error, I have named this series, “In Many Words.”

Not only as a description of my vain verbosity, but in recognition of the biblical truth that if you talk long enough, you are going to say something incorrect, sinful, and stupid.

Proverbs 10:19 teaches us that:

“When words are many, transgression is not lacking, but whoever restrains his lips is prudent.” - English Standard Version

“Sin is not ended by multiplying words, but the prudent hold their tongues.” - New International Version

“In the multitude of words sin is not lacking, But he who restrains his lips is wise.” -New King James Version

"When there are many words, wrongdoing is unavoidable, But one who restrains his lips is wise.” - New American Standard Bible

I offer versions of this passage in many words, so that you can see the variety in ways in which the English language can be used to teach the principle that if I talk long enough, I will sin, and it is most wise for me to just speak scripture and then stop talking.

I recognize that as soon as I have opened my mouth in this offering, I start the countdown clock on the emergence of my own vain opinions that may be in conflict with what God has actually said, and with the existing, objective facts in the universe.

I am in agreement with the Apostle Paul when he wrote, “Let God be true though every one were a liar, as it is written, “That you may be justified in your words, and prevail when you are judged.”

No matter my opinion, or my words, God is always right.

So in offering this series under the title “Ginger Taylor In Many Words,” I am pre-repenting of the things that I will certainly get wrong. I am pre-reminding myself that even when I am trying my hardest to get it right, I will fail to get it right at times. I am apologizing to you from the beginning for the places I will fail you. And to future generations who come across this series, “yeah... I can't believe I wrote that either. Forgive me. It was a difficult time, I tried to do my best, and I tried to repent as much as I could.” (to pre-quote myself.)

I begin in this in humility, hoping that I will be able to speak the truth in love, and obey God's command to preach the Gospel in season and out of season. I want to discuss our current dilemmas with accuracy. I hope you will overlook my vanity, forgive me for inserting my own agenda, and love me where I am.

I hope that at least something I have to offer you here will be of help to you. Even if it is only the scripture that I speak.

I will present both written posts and podcasts, and I would ask that you would refer to my writings for the more well thought out, detailed, and accurate of my offerings, as surely I will tend toward babbling in many words in my podcasting.

Welcome to Ginger Taylor, In Many Words.

6 Comments
Ginger Taylor, In Many Words
Ginger Taylor In Many Words
When words are many, transgression is not lacking Proverbs 10:19
Here I present many words on current events, politics, health, medicine, and corruption, through the lens of the gospel. As best I can. But as we know, when words a many, transgression is not lacking, so I apologize in advance for what I will get wrong.